Legislative and Finance Committee August 20, 2019 Immediately following Council Meeting Nesbitt Hall

The members of the Legislative and Finance Committee met at the Nesbitt Hall in Nesbitt, Manitoba on August 20, 2019 at 10:35 a.m. Members Present: Councillors Cory, Hargreaves, Hatch, McDonald, McGregor and Sowiak. Chairperson Dave Kreklewich presided.

Staff in attendance: Chief Administrative Officer Joni Swidnicki and Finance Officer Elaine McGregor.

The meeting was open to the public.

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Adoption of the Agenda

McDonald-Hatch

BE IT RESOLVED that the Agenda for the August 20, 2019 meeting be adopted as circulated with the addition of Reserve Accounts under General Business. CARRIED.

3. Adoption of Minutes

<u>Hargreaves-McDonald</u> BE IT RESOLVED that the Minutes of the February 12, 2019 meeting be adopted as circulated. CARRIED.

4. General Business

Discussion on Funding Applications

<u>McGregor-Sowiak</u> BE IT RESOLVED that a resolution be sent to Council that the funding applications be submitted with the following priority:

#1 Rural Water Co-op
#2 Excavate/Backfill Works
#3 Paved Road Rebuilds
#4 Road Build Up Works
#5 Reline/Replace/Construct Water Lines (Wawanesa)
CARRIED.

Discussions re Establishment of Special Levies for 2020

Hargreaves-Cory

BE IT RESOLVED that the Administration be requested to provide samples for establishment of special levies as follows:

Environmental Health Services to be charged on a per parcel basis whereby Class 30 Agricultural land will contribute 15% of the taxes to be levied and all other classes will contribute the remaining 85% of the taxes to be levied.

Recreation and Culture to be charged at a combination of per parcel and assessed value whereby Wawanesa properties shall pay a per parcel rate of \$100 with the remainder of the taxes to be levied being charged on all properties based on assessed value with Class 30 Agricultural lands contributing 50% and all other classes contributing 50%. CARRIED.

5. Adjournment

Hargreaves/McGregor

BE IT RESOLVED that this meeting does now adjourn (12:40 p.m.) to meet again at the call of the Chair. CARRIED.

Dave Kreklewich, Chair

Joni Swidnicki, Chief Administrative Officer